Tuesday, November 19, 2019 2:30 pm Eastern Standard Time (New York, GMT-05:00) Change time zone Tuesday, November 19, 2019 1:30 pm Central Standard Time (Chicago, GMT-06:00) Tuesday, November 19, 2019 12:30 pm Mountain Standard Time (Denver, GMT-07:00) Tuesday, November 19, 2019 11:30 am Pacific Standard Time (San Francisco, GMT-08:00) 1 hour 30 minutes The Human-Computer Interaction Institute at Carnegie Mellon University with Carnegie Museum of Natural History, Stroud Water Research Center, and Clemson University have officially launched www.macroinvertebrates.org, the online Atlas of Common Freshwater Macroinvertebrates of Eastern North America. The expanded collection includes features nine orders of aquatic insects plus other benthic macroinvertebrates commonly used in water quality biomonitoring and environmental education, with 150 taxa total. In this webinar, Marti Louw and Tara Muenz will provide an overview of how this National Science Foundation funded project used a participatory design process with an interdisciplinary team of entomologists, educators, designers, and learning researchers in cooperation with regional volunteer biomonitoring organizations involved in water quality assessment. Additionally, they will demonstrate site features and functionality and cover how this open educational resource can be used to support macroinvertebrate identification training with volunteers and students to improve confidence, accuracy, and engagement. Agenda *Welcome, housekeeping, introductions (5 mins, Julie) *Grant/project overview (15 mins, Marti) *Web site walk through (5 mins, video) *Using the tool for teaching, training, etc. (20 mins, Tara) *Q&A (15 mins moderated by Julie)
Website Security Test